Trust and Obey

I told myself to get up and go bed earlier. I knew morning would come too soon. I was right. My alarm went off and I was too tired…to tired to meet with The Lord this morning. You see He promised me that if I got up and went into my prayer closet, He would meet me there. As I lay there begging for one more hour – cause that is what it would take, forget 10 more minutes – He gently, lovingly but sternly whispered to me, “What if I questioned your prayers and delayed answering your requests, as you do mine? When you ask, do I not answer? When you ask me to do something, do I ask, “Is that really you, Judi? Did you really want me to protect you and your family from the high winds – which by the way I control? How would you like me to react to your petitions?”
 I laid there thinking, but you know my name and voice.
  “You know mine also”
 but I am not always sure.
  “You know mine also, get up”
 So I did.
 
 The other day, I asked one of my sons to do a chore and I got questions of ‘why’ thrown back at me. I turned and told him to just do it, and he complied all the while murmuring his dislike. I shook my head and was about to get angry and say something about his complaining, when I heard, “You demand obedience from your children. So do I. Without complaint.”
 
 Now don’t get me wrong…there isn’t anything wrong with making sure that I am hearing God’s voice. I am talking about the times that I know, that I know without any doubts, He is calling me – like last night, to go to bed earlier and this morning to come meet with Him.
 

About janeeley

I'm a wife, Mother and Mimi from Missouri. I love Christ and make no apologies for it. I live what I preach and teach - I am not perfect, and have not "arrived" as of yet. Do I make mistakes. Yes, but I try very hard to learn from my mistakes, but prefer to learn from other's mistakes. I love, I live, I laugh and I encourage.
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Trust and Obey

  1. CRowden says:

    Thanks for this post, Judi. I seem to fight this battle daily.

    Like

Leave a comment